Source link

Check out this CoinDesk article to learn more about how the event went, and find out the winners!

We are pleased to announce that on Friday May 16th, at the Bitcoin 2014 Conference in Amsterdam, Blockchain and the Bitcoin Foundation have partnered together to host the first annual Blockchain Awards to celebrate innovation and excellence in the Bitcoin community.

Awards will be announced across a number of categories including Most Influential Investor, Most Insightful Journalist, and Bitcoin Champion. We have posted the full list of categories below.

Blockchain Awards Categories:

  • Most Impactful Charity
  • Most Creative Video
  • Most Informative Podcast
  • Most Influential Investor
  • Best ATM Design
  • Most Insightful Journalist
  • Best Mobile App
  • Bitcoin Legal Expert
  • Visionary Academic Paper
  • Bitcoin Champion

Nominations will open, April 16th. Blind voting on the three most nominated companies or individuals will be announced and available on May 7th. Finalists will be refined to just three nominees for each category. Voting on the top three finalists of each category will commence May 7th and is open to anyone through the Blockchain blog. The event will take place in the main space of the Passenger Terminal Amsterdam.

Nicolas Cary, CEO of Blockchain, explained that “with these awards we hope to take a moment and reflect on the amazing contributions from the Bitcoin community. We want to honor the exceptional quality, leadership, and technical innovation we see every day”.

Bitcoin 2014 Conference, Amsterdam

Blockchain will donate 1 BTC to each category winner, and the award will be permanently and historically written into the block chain as proof of ownership.

“The Foundation works hard to recognize and advocate for innovation and ingenuity across the Bitcoin community,” said Jon Matonis, Executive Director of the Bitcoin Foundation. “These awards are a unique opportunity to showcase these accomplishments and celebrate an extraordinary year for Bitcoin.”

Join the conversation on Twitter using #WeAreSatoshi, #BlockchainAwards and #Bitcoin2014.

All Blockchain Award winners will be celebrated as part of this first annual event. Blockchain and the Bitcoin Foundation do not endorse any winners or nominees.